Ohio.gov  |   State Agencies   |   Online Services
About the Boards

The Ohio Architects Board and the Ohio Board of Examiners of Landscape Architects are responsible for the regulation of the practices of architecture and landscape architecture in the State of Ohio. There are two boards, with one budget and one staff. The Ohio Architects Board was established in 1929 and the Ohio Board of Examiners of Landscape Architects was established in 1965.

The regulation of the two professions includes: issuing and renewing the licenses of properly qualified individuals; investigating complaints against licensees; monitoring compliance with mandatory continuing education requirements; and educating licensees and the consumers of the services provided by the board's licensees on the laws and rules that govern the practice of architecture and landscape architecture in Ohio and the board's role to promote and protect the health of the citizens of Ohio through effective regulation of the professions.

Amy Kobe, Hon AIA  Executive Director
77 S. High Street, 16th Floor • Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108
Tel: (614) 466-2316

Welcome to the Ohio Architects Board and the Board of Landscape Architect Examiners

Important News and Announcements
2011 is a Renewal Year

All Architects and Landscape Architects will be renewing their licensees in 2011. Landscape Architect licenses expire on 10/31/11 and Architect licenses on 12/31/11. Firm Certificates of Authorization expire annually on June 30.

Renewal notices will be mailed approximately 60 days prior to the deadline.

Prior to renewing individual licenses, Architects and Landscape Architects are required to earn 24 hours of Continuing Education. 16 hours must be in Health, Safety and Welfare areas. Licensees are responsible for maintaining documentation, in the form of certificates of completion or transcripts, in case of an audit.

Licensees do not need to attend expensive conferences or pay hundreds of dollars for Continuing Education, as there are hundreds of courses available free of charge on the Internet.

For additional information on the Continuing Education requirements, and the Board’s list of Continuing Education resources, including websites where courses are available free of charge at http://www.arc.ohio.gov/ContinuingEducation.aspx

New ARE Rules Require Regular Testing


Two changes have been made to the Five-Year Rolling Clock for the Architect Registration Exam in the state of Ohio. These changes will affect all Ohio ARE candidates.

Licensed architects are not affected by these rules, nor are Landscape Architect Registration Exam (LARE) candidates.

The first change to the Rolling Clock goes into effect on January 1, 2011:

  • All Ohio exam candidates are now required to test at least once every five years in order to maintain their eligibility in Ohio to take the ARE. 
  • Ohio candidates whose initial ARE eligibility began prior to 1/1/2006 will have their eligibility voided on 1/1/2011, unless the candidate has taken (pass or fail) a division of the ARE since 1/1/2006.
  • Ohio candidates who were authorized to test after 1/1/06 remain eligible for five years from the date of the original authorization.
  • Ohio eligibility is extended by five years each time a candidate tests.
  • Any Ohio candidate whose authorization is terminated for failure to test will be required to re-apply to take the ARE and meet the eligibility requirements in effect at the time of re-application. 

The current Ohio requirements call for candidates to hold a professional degree in architecture to be admitted to the ARE and complete the Intern Development Program (IDP) prior to being licensed.

The second change is to the NCARB Rolling Clock and goes into effect on July 1, 2014:

  • As of 1/1/2014, scores for any division passed prior to January 1, 2006 will no longer be valid if all remaining divisions have not been passed by July 1, 2014.

Candidates with questions about their eligibility should contact the Board office at 614-466-1327.

All Architecture Firms Now Required to Obtain Certificate of Authorization

Senate Bill 183, 128th General Assembly, sponsored by Senator Tim Schaffer (R-Lancaster) became effective on September 10, 2010. As a result, all architecture firms are now subject to the requirements of Chapter 4703 of the Revised Code.

Landscape architecture firms have always had this requirement; the changes to the law do not apply to landscape architecture firms.

All architecture firms registered with the Ohio Secretary of State as corporations, LLC's, partnerships or professional associations are now required to obtain a Firm Certificate of Authorization. Unincorporated sole providers are still exempt.

The firm ownership exemption continues in effect for architecture firms granted a charter to do business in the state of Ohio prior to August 7, 1943 or otherwise lawfully providing architectural services prior to November 15, 1982. These grandfathered firms remain exempt from the requirement that a majority of the firm’s owners be registered design professionals. These firms must still comply with all other requirements, including obtaining a Certificate of Authorization and having an Ohio-registered Architect in responsible control.

Firms can download the “New Firm Certificate of Authorization Application” from the Forms page of the Board’s website.

Firm principals should also download and read the most current versions of the Board’s
laws and rules page which are available as PDF’s.

Firm with questions, or are in need of further assistance, should call Chad Holland or Amy Kobe at the Board office at (614) 466-2316. Or, if you wish, send an email to amy.kobe@arla.state.oh.us or chad.holland@arla.state.oh.us.

 read more ...