board and staff
change of address/name
forms and applications
laws and rules
privacy/public record requests
Common violations of the registration laws may include:
After a complaint is received; the complainant will receive written confirmation from the Board indicating the complaint was received. The complaint is reviewed by the Board Investigator to determine if further investigation and information is required.
If further information is needed, a letter will be sent to the respondent via certified mail with a copy of the complaint. The respondent is given thirty days to provide a detailed written response to the allegation. Once a response is received, the case information, including the original complaint and response, is presented to the Board at a regular meeting.
Then based upon the facts, circumstances and applicable laws and rules, the Board has the following options: close citing no violation, close citing no jurisdiction, close citing compliance has been obtained, offer a settlement agreement, seek further information, or file formal charges against the licensee.
If formal charges are filed, the licensee is issued a "Notice of Opportunity" letter outlining the specific charges and laws and rules allegedly violated. An opportunity will be provided for an administrative hearing under Chapter 119 of the Ohio Revised Code. If a hearing is not requested, the Board will review the evidence it has and decide the appropriate disciplinary action and issue a Final Order.
If an administrative hearing is requested, the hearing will take place before an independent Hearing Officer. The licensee may be represented by an attorney. The Board is represented by its legal counsel, a member of the Ohio Attorney General’s staff. The Board's Investigator attends the hearing. Board members are not present at hearings.
After hearing the evidence and testimony presented, the Hearing Officer, generally within thirty days, will issue a written Report and Recommendation. The licensee will be provided a copy of the Report and Recommendation and offered the opportunity to file any written objections to it.
The Board will then consider any objections and review and consider the Report and Recommendation and either accept, reject, or modify the Report and Recommendation.
If the hearing officer finds that there was a violation of the law, the Board, by authority of statute, has the option to suspend or revoke the license as well as issue a fine up to $1,000 per violation up to a maximum of $5,000.
The Board then decides on the appropriate action and issues a Final Order. The Board's Final Order can be appealed to the Court of Common Pleas. Subsequent appeals can be made to the Court of Appeals and the Ohio Supreme Court.
Alternatives to Filing a Complaint with the Board
The following documents list the disciplinary actions taken by the Board. To view the public records related to the disciplinary action, use the License Verification link in the Information menu and search by the licensee's last name. For public records related to unlicensed person, please contact the Board office.
Amy Kobe, Hon AIA Executive Director
77 S. High Street, 16th Floor • Columbus, Ohio 43215-6108
Tel: (614) 466-2316